Gerlando sur Facebook

CBDA Conference

2017 Conference in TOURS

 

The Creation of Adam

CBDA-4   JULY 4th – 6th 2017

 

Invited speaker:

Marion Elenbaas (Leiden University).

We are pleased to announce that the 5th edition of the international Biennial Conference on the Diachrony of English (CBDA-5) will take place in Tours, France, from July 4th to July 6th 2017, hosted by the Université François-Rabelais and organised in collaboration with the Université de Picardie Jules-Verne (Amiens) and the Université de Reims Champagne-Ardenne (Reims).
The main objective of the conference is to provide linguists working on the history of English with an opportunity to present their work and a forum within which to discuss current issues in English diachronic linguistics. We invite contributors, therefore, to submit session papers on all topics concerned with change and variation in the history of English (including syntax, semantics, phonetics, phonology, morphology, pragmatics, sociolinguistics, language contact, lexicology), and on all periods in the history of English, and even on other languages directly relevant to the study of English. Full papers will be allowed 30 minutes, including 10 minutes for discussion. If you would like to present a paper, please send an abstract (approximately 300 - 400 words), in DOC or PDF format, to both Fabienne Toupin (fabienne.toupin@univ-tours.fr) and Brian Lowrey (brian.lowrey@u-picardie.fr). Abstracts should reach us no later than February 28th, 2017. We would ask you to leave the abstract anonymous, but to cite your name and affiliation as well as the title of your paper in the e-mail.
We also welcome workshop proposals. If you wish to organise a workshop on a specific theme, please send details of your proposal (topic, provisional list of speakers, etc.) to both Fabienne Toupin (fabienne.toupin@univ-tours.fr) and Brian Lowrey (brian.lowrey@u-picardie.fr) by January 31st, 2017  at the latest. Workshops, ideally, should contain at least 4 or 5 slots, and need to be compatible with the main conference schedule. The general format (30 minute presentations, allowing 10 minutes for discussion) should therefore be adopted. The registration fees amout to 40€.

Further information will shortly be made available on the meeting website:
http://www.cbdaconference.org/
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you to the beautiful medieval and Renaissance city of Tours.

Please note that this edition of the Conference will be dedicated to the memory of Professor Xavier Dekeyser, of the University of Leuven, who had kindly supported CBDA since its beginning in 2008. Xavier passed away on May 23rd, 2016, and this is a very painful loss for all the organizers.

The local organizers:
Sylvain Gatelais (sylvain.gatelais@univ-tours.fr)
Vincent Hugou (vincent.hugou@univ-tours.fr)
Camille Ternisien (camille.ternisien@univ-tours.fr)
Fabienne Toupin (fabienne.toupin@univ-tours.fr)

The scientific committee:
Dominique Boulonnais (dominique.boulonnais@univ-paris3.fr)
Catherine Delesse (catherine.delesse@univ-lorraine.fr)
Sylvain Gatelais (sylvain.gatelais@univ-tours.fr)
Elise Louviot (elise.louviot@univ-reims.fr)
Brian Lowrey (brian.lowrey@u-picardie.fr)
Olivier Simonin (olivier.simonin@univ-perp.fr)
Fabienne Toupin (fabienne.toupin@univ-tours.fr)